Xero - beautiful accounting software

Xero Developer Help Center

Xero Developer Community

Community > Wrapper libraries >

Visual Studio C# winforms Nuget .NET wrapper API find contact

Started by John Bassett -   in Wrapper libraries

I am new to Xero and new to the API. I am developing an interface into Xero for a client and have managed to add new contacts and invoices but am struggling to find out how to do what should be really standard and basic things like check whether contact exists before adding a new contact and editing fields for existing contacts. Finding information on how to do even really basic things is ridiculously time-consuming and difficult and it does not seem to be all in one place. I am using Visual Studio C# winforms and have installed the Nuget wrapper. Googling, downloading the Github sample code etc, forums provides lots of long-winded, complicated possible solutions but there should surely be a short-cut to all this. Currently I have managed a workaround by loading all the contacts into a list (where the 100 per 'page' limit came from I can't begin to imagine) and checking against the list. Even the installation and set-up I did not get from Xero but some really helpful third-party web-site. I am sure I will figure it all out eventually but the project size and revenue does not merit the time it is taking so far and it really should not be necessary. Where can I get information on sample code to do these basic things in C# using the wrapper for example

1. Check if contact exists by Name or AccountNumber
2. Edit existing contact, for example to add AccountNumber
3. Delete contact (archive)
4. Similar for Invoices

Also I created a paid Xero account for development and need to transfer the keys to access my client's account. Is this possible if not how would I go about this ?

If this is not the right place to get support or answers to the above please indicate where is.

Thanks,

John
Hi John,