Xero - beautiful accounting software

Xero Developer Help Center

Xero Developer Community

Community > API Authentication >

Python, private application signature fail

Started by Jules Stevenson -   in API Authentication

Hi All,

We're trying to hook up our internal windows, Python based internal invoicing system to xero as a private application. I've been attempting to use the python api example to communicate with the xero api but am coming up against:

"oauth_problem=signature_invalid&oauth_problem_advice=Failed to validate signature"

what I've read online regarding this issue gets pretty heavy and I'm unsure if this is due to Python, or the openSSL generation (although that's pretty much copy and paste from the website), my knowledge of web programming is ok, but I'm far from an expert in this field (sorry).

The code I'm using is a simplified version of the python api example (please check the pastebin link below):

http://pastebin.com/Ss5D8aqy

The call for the request is as follows:

[code]

xml = """<Invoice>
<Type>ACCREC</Type>
<Contact>
<Name>ABC Limited</Name>
</Contact>
</Invoice>"""
xml = urllib.quote(xml.encode('utf8'))
xero = arkInvTools.XeroPrivateClient("###################################", "#################################","C:/ark/privatekey.pem")
response, content = xero.request("https://api.xero.com/api.xro/2.0/Invoices", method="POST", body=xml, headers={"Content-Type":"application/x-www-form-urlencoded; charset=utf-8"})
print response, content

[/code]

Where the first two arguments of the request call are the key and secret to our application set-up on our demo company. The third argument is the private key generated using windows openSSL (64bit) as per the instructions on the xero website. The public key has already been uploaded to the application. Am I correct in thinking that the pfx file is not required for this process?