Xero - beautiful accounting software

Xero Developer Help Center

Xero Developer Community

Community > API Endpoints >

Microsoft Access VBA connection to Private App - Success

Started by Tapaha Robati -   in API Endpoints

I haven't been able to figure out where this could go, hopefully Admin you can move this to where applicable?

One of the more challenging things I've discovered is that there is limited support for writing VBA (I know, the latin of coding languages) in terms of writing the calls correctly to hit Xero endpoints. All the wrappers are in the key languages such as C#, python, java etc.

Basically, long story short...I'm not a programmer. But I've spent months figuring it out and can successfully call all the Accounting Endpoints via writing some VBA in to an Access form.

I'm still working on it, but the establishing of the connection is what seems to have been the universal problem. This part I've solved and am happy to provide help to anyone who needs it. For someone who understands VBA syntax...you will get it quite easily. I've done the trial and error for you. It's very painful.

I want to see if there is anyone else out there needing this? My end goal is to help people use these findings for building in to Excel or the like. Yes it could be other languages, but I started this for my dads small business. Why would I want to use a cannon to kill a mosquito?
Hi,

You need a oauth authentication library. Have a look at https://github.com/VBA-tools/VBA-Web/blob/master/authenticators/OAuth1Authenticator.cls

Kind Regards

Remember I consult on a per hour basis. Contact me if your need me to fix the problem. $45 per hour.

We can do a 30 min free consultation via Skype.

Henzard Kruger
Certified Advisor and Full Stack developer
Picahoo cc - 0711304241 - henzard@picahoo.co.za
Quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten

I abide by the 3 message rule. After 3 messages we skype.

Henzard Kruger  

Hey Henzard

Cheers for the follow up.