Xero - beautiful accounting software

Xero Developer Help Center

Xero Developer Community

Community > Add-ons >

Xero add-on application types - how not to drive the end user crazy with login requests?

Started by Lachlan Dot -   in Add-ons

I'm a software developer who has discovered Xero through the payroll procedures of my latest employer. I'm interested in creating and selling a third-party Xero add-on, but I have concerns around the Xero API's login process and so wanted to better understand it. I'd be grateful if someone at Xero could respond.

Background - the sort of app I want to create:

I want to write an add-on that would run on the end-user's computer, where it would send information to Xero whenever software on the user's computer triggered it to do so. E.g. when the user enters a new sales order into their sales order system, information about the order would be sent to Xero by my add-in.

I want to write the add-in as a commercial product that can be sold to anyone interested i.e. its not tied to any particular Xero account. Customers would buy it, install it, and want it to then send information from their computer to their Xero account.

Question - how does my add-on connect to Xero without having to bug the user to log in every time it connects?

The user should have the option to need to log in every time, and the user should certainly have to supply their login credentials at least once before the add-on can connect to their Xero. But what about the scenario where the user wants to log in once only, then have the add-on remeber login details or similar such that the user doesn't then have to re-enter their login details next time the add-on sends some data to their Xero.