Xero - beautiful accounting software

Xero Developer Help Center

Xero Developer Community

Community > Getting Started >

Create a feed similar to the Stripe direct feed from my SaaS

Started by Flon Mackenzie -   in Getting Started

I am a developer of a SaaS.

The Stripe direct feed is not good enough for my purposes as it only splits in 2 transactions in Xero for total charge and stripe fees from the Stripe charge.

I have application fees in Stripe which include GST and these are combined with the Stripe fees in the Stripe feed so it makes it impossible to reconcile.

What I want to do is make a direct feed from my SaaS to the customers Xero account the same as the Stripe feed works.

I will basically just get the data from Stripe and split a Stripe charge into 3 Xero transactions so it can be reconciled.

I will need to use the API, I just want to check that this is possible?

So the Xero account holder will need to authorize the link to my SaaS platform and then it will set up a Xero bank account with a feed the same setting up Stripe direct feed does.
Hi Fion

We don't generally provide access to the bank feeds API unless you are a bank or similar financial institution. This would prevent you from replicating the functionality of the Stripe feed.

For the scenario you've described we suggest an alternative workflow so that reconciliation can be streamlined. This is described here: https://developer.xero.com/documentation/guides/how-to-guides/handling-payment-processor-receipts-in-xero/

A variation of this would be to use a dummy bank account in place of the clearing account.

Robin B (Community Manager)  

I can't really make much sense of the example in that link.
How does that work with a Stripe feed?

So there is no way for me to import a the equivalent of a bank transaction csv using the API?

I can currently replicate what I want to do at the moment by doing the following: