Xero - beautiful accounting software

Xero Business Community

Xero Business Community

Hi everyone, Come on over to the new discussions in Xero Central. It’s a more intuitive way to connect and chat all things business with one another. Ask questions, dish out answers, and get involved.

You can still view topics in the Xero Business Community to see all the useful knowledge that’s been shared there; and you can restart conversations you feel have been of huge value to you on Xero Central.

If you have brilliant ideas for innovations, you can keep on adding feature requests in the Xero Business Community, and voting on existing requests. There’s more in store, as we come up with the best way to take on your thoughts and share developments
Community > Accounting >

Manual Payroll reconcile payroll accounts new to xero

Started by Melissa Jackson -   in Accounting

Hi
I am new to Xero. Last week my payroll was setup to run through Xero then I had issues and was unable to get it to work. As a result, I just did a bank transfer to my employees account for the amount of their wages after taxes. Their withholding are still in my business bank account along with my employee portion of the taxes. My questions are within Xero where do I code the transactions? Example below.

Manual bank transfer for paycheck outside of Xero $100 coded to wage and salary (I know this part :) )

Employees withholding (FICA) codes to where?
Employers withholding (FICA) codes to where?
State taxes code to where?
FUTA code to where?
SUTA code to where?

Do I need to create a new bill for those items also?

This really needs to be in the Guide, it comes up all the time. Maybe this will help.

https://community.xero.com/business/discussion/41388738

Nancy Leach  

Also, the Xero payroll function is about to disappear. Time to search the app marketplace for a payroll provider.

Nancy Leach  

Thanks Nancy. I've created the bill, with the following codes:
Salary (gross) - Wage & Salaries