Xero - beautiful accounting software

Xero Business Community

Xero Business Community

Hi everyone, Come on over to the new discussions in Xero Central. It’s a more intuitive way to connect and chat all things business with one another. Ask questions, dish out answers, and get involved.

You can still view topics in the Xero Business Community to see all the useful knowledge that’s been shared there; and you can restart conversations you feel have been of huge value to you on Xero Central.

If you have brilliant ideas for innovations, you can keep on adding feature requests in the Xero Business Community, and voting on existing requests. There’s more in store, as we come up with the best way to take on your thoughts and share developments
Community > Small Business >

Adding expenses to an item in stock inventory

Started by Beth Cotton -   in Small Business

Hi there,

Not only am I new to Xero, I am new to everything book keeping!
So we purchase cars, fix them up if needed and sell them on. After adding an individual car to the inventory how do I then later add costs against that car??

Say we purchase a car for $200 - and will later sell for $500, but have had to buy and fix a part on the car for a total of $120.. how and where do I add that in to adjust our profit etc??

I hope this makes sense?
Hi Beth,

The answer to this depends a little bit on how you sell the cars. If you itemise what you've put into the car (like a mechanic would), you simply purchase and then sell the extra parts etc as separate Inventory items.