Xero - beautiful accounting software

Xero Business Community

Xero Business Community

Hi everyone, Come on over to the new discussions in Xero Central. It’s a more intuitive way to connect and chat all things business with one another. Ask questions, dish out answers, and get involved.

You can still view topics in the Xero Business Community to see all the useful knowledge that’s been shared there; and you can restart conversations you feel have been of huge value to you on Xero Central.

If you have brilliant ideas for innovations, you can keep on adding feature requests in the Xero Business Community, and voting on existing requests. There’s more in store, as we come up with the best way to take on your thoughts and share developments
Community > Small Business >

Late entries in VAT return

Started by Gyles Smith -   in Small Business

Hi. I am new to Xero and would like to file my first VAT return directly using the function in Xero. However, I have several receipts which were missed off my last VAT return (not done through Xero) and so I would like to include them in my next VAT return. Is there any way of doing this please? I have already entered all these bills into Xero but because they are from the previous VAT period and I have not previously submitted a return through Xero, they are not showing as late additions.

Many thanks
Hi
When you run the VAT return report in Xero there is a tick box for "Include late VAT claims". It is just below the VAT quarter selection. This should bring in any VATable transactions that are dated prior to the VAT quarter and were not included in a previously published VAT quarter.
If these receipts are missing what tax rate was used when they were entered into Xero?

John Knight