Xero - beautiful accounting software

Xero Business Help Center

Xero Business Community

Community > Small Business >

Moving from Sage tips? It's making Zero sense

Started by Lynsey Bastian -   in Small Business

I'm looking for advice from anyone who has moved from Sage to Xero. Our accountant wants us to move from Sage (which I have been using for over 6 years) to Xero and I am in the middle of a month long free trial on Xero and to be honest I am hating everything about it. I understand the benefit that our accountant can log in at any time but at the moment that's the only benefit I see.

As a Sage user, Xero makes Zero sense to me. It doesn't feel like Xero is designed for a small charity like mine at all. Everything is about unit prices, inventory and it feels like it is made for a big organisation selling products. We are a small third sector organisation with invoices to pay and we invoice other organisations for services like training and membership. We pay GCVS to handle our payroll so I just have to record the amount we pay them then run a journal to split this between departments (I've not even tried to figure out how to do a journal entry on Xero yet).

We don't need our software package to do a lot but we do need to be able to see activity for each department. I understand that you can set up 'tracking' instead of departments but I can't figure out how you view for example all activity in one tracking category during say the month of February. In Sage all I'd have to do is go to departments, select the right one and view 'activity' choosing the month I need and this would show me all activity. Looking at Xero I have to view sales and purchases separately for one 'department / tracking category'.