Xero - beautiful accounting software

Xero Business Help Center

Xero Business Community

Community > App Reviews >

Harvest

Started by Xero API -   in App Reviews |Invoicing + Jobs

4.2 out of 5 stars
 
Based on 15 user ratings
If you are a user of Xero and Harvest, tell us how you are getting on and your experience so far. Any tips?

About Harvest


Simple time tracking, powerful reporting, and quick invoicing. Trusted by over 10,000 businesses in more than 100 countries, check out Harvest.

Tip

Remember if you have questions or need assistance with Harvest, this is not the best place to ask - this forum is for reviews and feedback only.

For general support, check out the Harvest support centre or this page for information on connecting Harvest to Xero.

I've been excited to integrate Xero into Harvest for a while now. I've finally done so only to find out I cannot send retainer invoices across thus I cannot reconcile my accounts so I'm angered to accept whole idea is unusable for me.

I appreciate that retainer accounts get invoiced themselves, but that's a virtual internal invoice that clients never see and so the one that should be blocked from being sent to Xero.

In Xero the actual payments on imported bank statements need to be matched to the invoices of that exact amount ie the amounts on the retainer invoices created and sent in Harvest ...not the internal ones, which vary wildly every month and are not relevant to the banking at all - work done.

What's the thinking here? Am I missing something.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
 

Stuart Hinchliff  

I love Harvest and have been integrating invoices with Xero from the outset. I don't mind the double reconciliation of paid invoices as I only issue a few each month so the burden is low.

However, I have just hit a limitation. I have been forced to run my business through two companies depending on the client I am billing. This is merely a function of the individual project and I don't need or want to operate two Harvest accounts as timesheet reconciliation would become a nightmare.

In Harvest I cannot have two different invoice pro-formas so I have to manually edit the company and bank account details on some invoices. Also, Harvest appears to only link to one Xero account and I will be running with two. This might be the catalyst to test an alternative.
 

Gillian Akers  

Love Harvest and have referred a number of other clients. However, the lack of two-way integration results in a lot of rework and management. Are there plans to push payment information from Xero back into Harvest? This would really cut out a bunch of waste in our invoicing process....

Any why must we ALWAYS copy the tax rate from Xero? Surely it should default to this?
 

Ren Hammington  

Harvest is ideal for time tracking and sending invoices through to Xero, however many clients pay by EFT directly into my bank account. These payments are consequently reconciled and invoices marked as paid. I then 'manually' need to go into Harvest and ensure I mark the same invoices as paid within Harvest. This is double entry.

Therefore, it would make sense that the Harvest integration should also send payments from Xero back to Harvest. This would close the loop. Hope this functionality will be included in the future.
 

Suzy Roberts  

Hi Brandon,

Great to hear that you're enjoying Harvest! Thanks for explaining why it'd be beneficial for Harvest to pull down the tax rates per client from Xero–I see where you're coming from. Unfortunately, we don't have plans to add this to the integration, but I've made note of your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share!

Best,
Katie
 

Harvest Admin  

We are enjoying using Harvest to run our small firm with clients across multiple states. One of our only pain points in using Harvest (vs. Xero/Workflow Max) is the fact that you can’t assign a sales tax rate to clients. Many of our clients don’t need to be charged sales tax for service oriented services; however, there are a handful in different states who need to be charged sales tax. If we forget to add this when invoicing the client, then it becomes frustrating. I really wish there was a way for Harvest to look at Xero tax rates, then allow us to permanently assign one of those rates to individual clients. . . would be really really helpful.
 

Brandon Smith  

Hi Liz,

Thanks for writing in! Unfortunately, we don't have plans to add a two-way payment sync. This is something we've heard, and I can see how it'd be useful for you. I'm sorry I don't have better news for you! Let me know if you have any other questions.

Thanks,
Katie
 

Harvest Admin  

Hi, Probably a question for Harvest. Are there any plans to add a 2-way payment sync? or at least get the harvest payments to update if a bank rec in Xero shows a payment has been made.
I can see this has been asked in various places since the integration launched, has it made a future feature list yet? Same for bulk adding contacts in harvest from Xero.
Both look possible via the Xero API. Cheers
 

Liz Bissland  

Very happy with the integration- makes tracking billing much easier for the team.
Tim Boeckmann
CoFounder Angeloop
 

Tim Boeckmann  

Hi Vivek,

You can absolutely create invoices as drafts in Harvest and copy them over to Xero. Once you create an invoice in Harvest, you'll want to go to the More Actions menu and click Copy to Xero. The invoice will be copied over as a draft to Xero and then you can send it out to your clients and manage the payments from there! Note that you'll need to manually update the Harvest invoice as paid once you receive the payment since updates to invoices in Xero do not get copied over to Harvest.

If you have questions, feel free to drop us a line at support@harvestapp.com

Thanks!
Katie
 

Harvest Admin  

I was a Harvest user in the past and now use Xero + Freshbooks but want to go back to Harvest. One question I have - and maybe I didn't research it properly before posting - is whether I can just have Harvest send a draft invoice into Xero and then have Xero be the one that sends it out. I want to be able to use authorize.net or another payment gateway that I use that integrates with Xero.
 

Vivek Mittal  

Hi Cindy, thanks for reaching out! The copying of payments from Harvest to Xero has been going well. Unfortunately, the reverse (copying payments from Xero to Harvest) is not available. We've heard from customers that this would be useful, for the exact reason that you said – the Xero bank feeds. We don't have this on our radar right now but your feedback is noted. Sorry I don't have better news for you!
 

Harvest Admin  

Hi Katie from Harvest. One of my clients has just started with Harvest and I've got him on Xero. Just wondering how the copying of payments of invoices in Harvest to Xero is going and whether there is the option of the reverse (payments from Xero into Harvest)?

As bank transactions feed directly into Xero, it is quicker and easier to assign payments to invoices in Xero and then have those payments sync back to Harvest.

Thanks :)
 

Cindy Parnis  

Very easy to configure and set up. Especially like the fact I can track time from an app on mobile or on the website.
 

Lisa Kirby  

Seamless integration for timekeeping & invoicing. Saves a TON of time!
 

Eric Axelrod  

Plan to move to Xero, but depend on a good invoicing system for doing recurring invoices/payments. Thought it could be a good ide to use Harvest for this?
How "tight" is the integration?
Is the transfer of invoices, payments, reversal of payments, creditnotes 100%?

Would like to use the AR in Xero for reporting, and as the "master", and would realy need to be confident that nothing is "lost in translation". Are there any "reconciliation" reports regarding the Ar balances in Harvest/Xero?

Thank you!
 

Lasse Hoydal  

@RD Katie from Harvest here. I wanted to let you know that copying invoice payments from Harvest to Xero is just around the corner. If you want to be a part of the beta group, drop us a line here: http://hrv.st/hURkj6. Thanks!
 

Harvest Admin  

Any thoughts on the best way to post payments in Xero that were paid and posted in Harvest?
 

RD Hutton  

I've been using Harvest for several years. Just migrating into Xero and am very happy to see the links. Harvest allows seamless addition of new employees whether part-time or full-time and one or multiple project areas. Easy for complex patterns - for staff and contractors
 

Johan Stroman  

I'm currently four days into a trial with Harvest. Can't believe how simple it is to configure and use. Have already sent out a few quotes and my first invoice today. Excited much!!

Personally I'm glad that the integration only works one way as I prefer to manage AR from within Xero and wouldn't want to clog up my spanky Harvest account with a whole lot of repeating invoices that are irrelevant to the way I intend to use it.
 

Michelle Harrison  

I agree with Kevin. It's nice having the integration, but why make it only one way? Why not have any invoice reconciled in Xero record payment in Harvest?

Kind of feels like only half the effort was put into this plugin....
 

Aaron Magon  

The integration is good as far as it goes. However, wouldn't it be even better if payments posted in Xero were passed back to Harvest (just like the integration between WorkflowMax and xero) meaning that entry didn't have to be made in both systems?
 

Kevin Meakings  

Very good integration, makes our posting to Xero and billing so much faster.
 

Darryl Collins  

If it were not for Harvest would be still using "old school" paper timesheets - we have been best friends forever for close to 2 years. Recommend anyone in business large or small hop onto their regular webinars and see how cool it is to use. Billing time and expense claims breeze.
 

Gillian Rossouw  

I use Harvest all day, every day, from any device. Love the ease of use! The integration with Xero is perfect!
 

Susan Cisternelli  

Beautiful software for those who use time to bill ... seamless integration with Xero
 

Gayle Buchanan